Long-wearing makeup allstars

Well, hello there! Happy middle of the week! Or in the words of one of my favorite commercials, happy hump day! I hope you guys have been having a great week so far. I’ve just been working my little tail off, which got me thinking about this blog post.

As I told y’all, I work in tv here in Columbia, South Carolina…aka one of the stinkin’ hottest, most humid places ever. When I put my makeup on in the morning, I need for it to seriously last. all. day. I never know if I’m going to have to film myself at 11 a.m. or 5 p.m., and I need to look halfway decent either way. So I thought I would share with you guys the two makeup gems I have discovered since entering the world of full-face, long-wearing makeup. While my primers and powders are also a key component to my makeup routine, those get switched up fairly often. These two products I’m about to share are the two that I seriously can not live without on a day where I’m working. I’ve tried to find cheaper alternatives, but none seem to stack up and I think they are worth their slightly high price tag.

Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation & Mac Pro Longwear concealer

Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation & Mac Pro Longwear concealer

Let’s start with the foundation, shall we? I had heard rave reviews about Estee Lauder’s Double Wear foundation and decided to give it a try once I realized my “real world” foundation just was not holding up under the studio lights. This stuff is serious. It’s medium to full coverage and once it’s on, it’s on. I use my Real Techniques foundation brush to apply it in sections to my face. If you would like a more in-depth explanation of this foundation, how it wears, or how I apply it, just let me know! Just for reference’s sake, the shade “Fresco” is the closest match to my skin tone.

tightbottomfound

 

This foundation retails for around $37. If you would like to read more about it, here is their website: http://www.esteelauder.com/product/643/22830/Product-Catalog/Makeup/Face/Foundations/Double-Wear/Stay-in-Place-Makeup

Then on to concealer! Mac’s Pro Longwear concealer is by far the best coverage and longest wearing concealer I have ever tried. I wear this stuff underneath my eyes, as well as on my face to cover any dark spots or blemishes. You only need the tiniest bit – a little goes a very long way. I typically use my clean fingers to tap this onto my face and my Beauty Blender to pat it in underneath my eyes. Again, if you have any questions about this stuff, I’d be more than happy to share my thoughts! I currently wear the shade NW20.

tightbottomconc

This concealer retails for around $20. Here is the site with more information: http://www.maccosmetics.com/product/shaded/157/10181/Products/Face/Concealer/Pro-Longwear-Concealer/index.tmpl?SKU_ID=SKU21994&gclid=Cj0KEQjwyrqgBRDepamt-LWA2oABEiQAV7nwwOUavGyhuRlxAId5QZjtMl9pT3vs3TSWDoLyuUWt2ToaAg768P8HAQ

Now while I gave y’all links to the companies’ official sites, I purchase both my foundation and concealer at the Estee Lauder or Mac counter in Belks. I find that to be the most convenient so they can match me correctly!

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and I’ll catch up with you again Friday!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

