Battle of the primers

Hi guys! We have officially made it to the middle of the week, thank goodness! I don’t know about y’all, but I am more than ready for this weekend to get here! For today’s post, I thought I would review 2 primers I have recently used. I finished an entire bottle of the Smashbox primer and I’ve been using the Bare Minerals primer for about a week, so I think I can give y’all a pretty good verdict! My skin is sensitive, oily, and prone to breaking out if something makes it the least bit upset. Talk about high maintenance! So that is where I’m coming from in my review of these two products. Let’s get started!

primersboth

Let’s start with the Smashbox Photo Finish Blemish Control primer since I’ve finished that bad boy up completely! The full size, which is 1 ounce, retails for $40. You can find more information about it here: http://www.sephora.com/photo-finish-more-than-primer-blemish-control-P379830?skuId=1523422

smashboxfrontclose

Overall, I liked this primer. I do feel like it helped my makeup stay in place all day and it didn’t break me out. That being said, I don’t think it did an amazing job at controlling any oil and shine. However, I know that isn’t a main claim of this product. I would have to blot my face after a couple hours of wear when shine would start to break through oily areas like my T-zone though, which I didn’t love. Also, I didn’t feel like it helped my makeup “glide on” like a lot of primers do. It absorbed quickly, which was nice, but my skin basically felt the same after putting it on. All in all, I enjoyed it just fine but I wanted to try something different once I was finished with it. So, moving on…

bminclose

BareMinerals Oil Control Foundation Primer. This bad boy is almost half the price of the Smashbox primer, ringing in at $24 for the full size, which is also 1 ounce. You can read more about it here: http://www.sephora.com/product/productDetail.jsp?keyword=bare%20minerals%20primer%20oil%20control&skuId=1431089&productId=P312112&_requestid=304746

My verdict so far? I love it! It helps my makeup stay put and keeps me matte better than anything else I have tried. Also, I feel like it helps my foundation go on smoother. But mostly, I am love-ing the shine control.

So who is the winner? BareMinerals! I’ll be honest with y’all – I was surprised. I dont’ know why, but I thought BareMinerals just wouldn’t hold up next to Smashbox, but for what I need in a primer, BareMinerals is nailing it on the head!

I hope you guys enjoyed and if you have any questions about these products at all, let me know! I’ll talk to y’all Friday! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

